National Gas Grid

Natural gas is a naturally occurring hydrocarbon gas mixture consisting primarily of methane, but commonly including varying amounts of other higher alkanes, and sometimes a small percentage of carbon dioxide, nitrogen, hydrogen sulfide, or helium.

Natural gas available in India can broadly be classified into two categories, viz. (i) Domestic Natural Gas and (ii) Imported Re-gasified Liquefied Natural Gas (R-LNG).

Government has launched ambitious “Urja Ganga” gas pipe line project which aims to provide piped cooking gas to residents in Varanasi within two years and in another year after that it would cater to needs of people in Jharkhand, Bihar, Odisha, and West Bengal.

It will cater to energy needs of five states, covering 40 districts and 2,600 villages. It will pave way for revival of three large fertilizer plants, enable industrialisation of over 20 cities and development of city gas network in 7 cities, generating a large number of jobs.

The aims and objectives of National Gas Grid are as under:

a) To remove regional imbalance within the country with regard to access of natural gas and provide clean and green fuel throughout the country.
b) To connect gas sources to major demand centres and ensure availability of gas to consumers in various sectors.
c) Development of City Gas Distribution Networks in various cities for supply of CNG and PNG.

It can also give lot of benefits to help renewal of a number of declining fertilizer industrialized units and other sectors like Power and Automotive. In this scheme not only households but about half a million vehicles may switch over to CNG mode so that the problem of fuel in the country could be resolved.

Practice question:

1. Which of the following state has not been covered under Urja Ganga” gas pipe line project?

a) Chattisgarh

b) Jharkhand

c) Odisha

d) West Bengal

Ans: a
Exp: It will supply gas to Uttar Pradesh (UP), Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha and West Bengal.