Historical Background of Jammu Kashmir Download PDF

Kashmir has history of 6000 years, intermittently ruled by outsiders. The history of Kashmir is mainly divided into four periods:

  1. Muslim Period

Shah Mir ascended the throne under the name of Sultan Shamasud-din, and his dynasty ruled the state for 222 years. Sultan Sikander Butshika of Kashmir considered worst in Muslim Period. Firishta records that he persecuted the Hindus and issued orders prohibiting the residence of any other than Muslims in Kashmir. He also ordered the breaking of all golden and silver images.

  1. Mughal Period (1587 – 1752)

 During the period of Mughal rule from 1587 to 1752, the people enjoyed peace and order. Akbar built a new town near Hariparbat and called it Nagar-Magar and built the massive wall around the hill. The Mughal rulers never came alone, but were always accompanied by hundreds of Nobles, Amirs and Umras, Princes and Army Generals. Jahangir came virtually, under the spell of the scenic beauty of the place, and wherever he found a hill coming down gently to a spring or a grove of majestic Chinar trees or a beautiful lake, he utilized the place for planting a pleasure garden

  1. Afghan Rule (1752 – 1819)

The rulers of Kabul were great despots, and they ruled all the parts of their kingdom ruthlessly with an iron hand. The cornerstone of their policy was terror. As many as twenty eight Durrani Subedars governed Kashmir during these sixty seven years. Most of the well to do people of the valley were summoned by the Abid Ali Governor Abdullah Khan to his palace, and ordered to surrender all their wealth on pain of death. Their houses were completely sacked, and many people were put to sword. There was complete gloom and despair on every side.

The misery of the people increased due to natural calamities as well, such as premature snow falls, which would destroy a ripe rice crop leading to famines. Thousands of people migrated to India during these hard days, and no wonder the population of the valley came down to two lakhs from nine lakhs.

  1. Dogra Period: (1846 -1957)

 Dogras are from Indo-Aryan ethnic group in south Asia. Dogras believed to be suryavanshi Rajputs of chattri origin. They are migrated from Rajputana many centuries ago. They live predominantly in the J&K, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and North East Pakistan. They speak their own language called Dogri. Most of the Dogras are Hindus, some are Muslims and some are Sikhs. From 1846 to 1949, four Dogra kingdoms are ruled in J&K. The Kashmir accession was started at the time of Maharaja Hari singh.

In 1885 Maharaja Sir Pratap Singh ascended the throne and he ruled for a period of 40 years. There was development in the means of communication and telegraphs. Telephones and post offices were opened in many places. After the death of Maharaja Pratap Singh his nephew Maharaja Sir Hari Singh ascended the throne in 1925. He continued to govern the state till 1949. Hari Singh was the last ruler of Kashmir. When India got freedom in 1947 the land was divided into two parts- India and Pakistan

© 2020 Basix Education Pvt. Ltd. All Rights Reserved