Maglev Technology

Maglev Technology


• Maglev is a transport method that uses magnetic levitation to move vehicles without making contact with the ground.
• Maglev trains move more smoothly and more quietly than wheeled mass transit systems.
• The power needed for levitation is typically not a large percentage of its overall energy consumption.
• In itself, maglev technology includes no moving parts.

How Maglev train works?

• Maglev train hovers 10 centimeters above the tracks and is propelled by electrically charged magnets which lift and moves train carriages above the rail tracks.
• This train travels along a guideway using magnets to create both lift and propulsion.
• This lift and propulsion reduces friction and allow it to attain higher speeds(minimum speed of 350 km per hour (kmph) and maximum 500kmph) compared to conventional wheeled trains.

The two notable types of maglev technology are:

I. Electromagnetic suspension (EMS), electronically controlled electromagnets in the train attracts it to a magnetically conductive (usually steel) track.

II. Electrodynamic suspension (EDS) uses superconducting electromagnets or strong permanent magnets that create a magnetic field, which induces currents in nearby metallic conductors when there is relative movement, which pushes and pulls the train towards the designed levitation position on the guide way.

The world’s first commercial Maglev line opened in 2004 and is located in Shanghai, China.

Use of technology in India:

• The railways had invited expressions of interest for Maglev trains in July, 2016.
• In September, 2016, six companies, including Bharat Heavy Electricals Ltd and Switzerland-based SwissRapide AG, had evinced interest in developing Maglev’s in India.
• The project would be implemented on a PPP (public-private partnership) basis as a joint venture between the railways and a private company wherein the railways would contribute 26% of the equity.

List of Maglev train proposals in the Country:

• Mumbai – Delhi
• Mumbai – Nagpur
• Chennai – Bangalore – Mysore
• Pune (Pimple Saudagar) – Mumbai (Panvel)
• Kochi Metro