What's New :
Join Our Open Mentorship Sessions, Register here...
UPSC Interview Guidance Program. Register here...

Padma Awards 2023

  • Published
    23rd Mar, 2023

President Droupadi Murmu conferred Padma awards to 106 people belonging to various fields including art, social work, public affairs, trade and industry, medicine, and science and engineering among others.

About Awardees:
  • M Krishna- Former Karnataka CM S.M. Krishna who is known for his statesman like vision and administrative acumen during a career spanning more than six decades was given the Padma Vibhushan.
  • Kumar Mangalam Birla- Chairman of Aditya Birla group (ABG) was given the Padma Bhushan.
    • ABG was one of the first Indian groups to venture abroad and acquire widespread global presence.
  • Balkrishna Vithaldas Doshi: The renowned Indian architect, credited with designing some of the most iconic structures in the country such as IIM Bangalore, NIFT Delhi and CEPT University in Ahmedabad, was awarded Padma Vibhushan posthumously.
  • Rakesh Jhunjhunwala: Billionaire stock market investor Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, who had passed away, last year, was conferred Padma Shri posthumously.

The Padma Awards:

  • The Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honours only after Bharat Ratna of India announced annually on the eve of Republic Day.
  • The Awards are given in three categories: Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher order) and Padma Shri (distinguished service).
  • The award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
  • The Padma Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year where the awardees are presented a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a medallion.

The nomination process is open to the public. Even self-nomination can be made.


  • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these awards.
  • Government servants including those working with PSUs, except doctors and scientists, are not eligible for these Awards.
  • The award is normally not conferred posthumously. However, in highly deserving cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.

Other Conditions:

  • The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities: social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.

The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name.

  • A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma award. However, in highly deserving cases, a relaxation can be made by the Awards Committee.
  • The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.


GS Mains Classes GS Classes 2024 GS Classes 2024 GS Classes 2024 UPSC Study Material

Verifying, please be patient.

Our Centers

DELHI (Karol Bagh)

GS SCORE, 1B, Second Floor, Pusa Road, Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005 (Beside Karol Bagh Metro Station Gate No. 8)

Get directions on Google Maps

BHUBANESWAR (Jaydev Vihar)

GS SCORE, Plot No.2298, Jaydev Vihar Square, Near HCG Day Care, BBSR - 751013

Get directions on Google Maps

LUCKNOW (Aliganj)

GS SCORE, 2nd Floor, B-33, Sangam Chauraha, Sector H, Aliganj, Lucknow, UP - 226024

Get directions on Google Maps

Enquire Now