What's New :
ITS 2025: Integrated Test Series & Mentorship Program for Prelims and Mains. Get Details
12th August 2022 (7 Topics)

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban Extended till December 2024


The Cabinet, chaired by the Prime Minister, has extended the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Urban (PMAY-U) scheme till December 31, 2024.

  • Earlier it has been targeted to be completed till March 31, 2022.


  • PMAY-U Housing for all is a major flagship programme being implemented by the government to provide all-weather pucca houses to all eligible beneficiaries in the urban areas across the country.
  • The issue of providing houses to all eligible urban dwellers in saturation mode was brought into focus and the scheme of PMAY-Urban was conceptualised. In 2017, the original projected demand was 100 lakh houses.
  • Housing for All Mission for urban area is being implemented during 2015-2022 and this Mission will provide central assistance to implementing agencies through States and UTs for providing houses to all eligible families/beneficiaries by 2022.

About the Scheme

  • The Mission covers the entire urban area consisting of Statutory Towns, Notified Planning Areas, Development Authorities, Special Area Development Authorities, Industrial Development Authorities or any such authority under State legislation which is entrusted with the functions of urban planning & regulations.
  • Mission will be implemented as Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) except for the component of credit linked subsidy which will be implemented as a Central Sector Scheme.
  • Mission with all its component has become effective from the date 17.06.2015 and will be implemented up to March 2022 but now extended till December 2024.

Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) vs. Central sector scheme

  • Centrally Sponsored Schemes are different from Central Sector Schemes in the sense that Central Sector Schemes are implemented by Centre directly while Centrally Sponsored Schemes are implemented by states.
  • CSS are extended by the Union Government to States under Article 282 of the Constitution.
  • It has been implemented in phased manner as under;
  • Phase I (April 2015 - March 2017) to cover 100 Cities selected from States/UTs as per their willingness.
  • Phase II (April 2017 - March 2019) to cover additional 200 Cities
  • Phase III (April 2019 - March 2022) to cover all other remaining Cities
  • The Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) Programme launched by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (MoHUPA).

Who are the beneficiaries?

  • Beneficiaries include economically weaker section (EWS), low-income groups (LIGs) and Middle Income Groups (MIGs).
  • EWS category of beneficiaries is eligible for assistance in all four verticals of the Missions whereas LIG and MIG categories are eligible under only Credit linked subsidy scheme (CLSS) component of the Mission.
  • A beneficiary family will comprise husband, wife, unmarried sons and/or unmarried daughters.
  • The ownership of houses is provided in the name of female member or in joint name.

Four Verticals under the Scheme

  • In Situ Slum Redevelopment (ISSR): This vertical will be implemented with the concept “Land as a resource” with private sector participation for providing houses to eligible slum dwellers.

Slum: It is a compact area of at least 300 people or about 60 - 70 households of poorly built congested tenements in an unhygienic environment usually with inadequate infrastructure and lacking in proper sanitary and drinking water facilities

  • Affordable Housing through Credit Linked Subsidy (CLSS): Beneficiaries of EWS, LIG, MIG (I &II) seeking housing loans from Banks, Housing Finance Companies and other such institutions for acquiring, new construction or enhancement of houses are eligible for an interest subsidy of:
  • 5% on loan amount up to Rs. 6 Lakh
  • 4% on loan amount up to Rs. 9 Lakh
  • 3% on loan amount up to Rs. 12 Lakh
  • Affordable Housing through Partnership (AHP): An affordable housing project can be a mix of houses for different categories but it will be eligible for Central Assistance, if at least 35% of the houses in the project are in the EWS category.
  • Beneficiary-led individual house construction (BLC): Central Assistance up to Rs. 1.5 lakh per EWS house is provided to eligible families belonging to EWS categories for individual house construction/ enhancement.

Government initiatives for implementation of the scheme

  • CLSS Awas Portal (CLAP): It is a common platform where all stakeholders i.e., MoHUA, Central Nodal Agencies, Primary Lending Institutions, Beneficiaries and Citizens are integrated in a real-time environment.
  • Affordable Rental Housing Complexes (ARHCs): It is a sub-scheme under PMAY-U. This will provide ease of living to urban migrants/ poor in the Industrial Sector as well as in non-formal urban economies to get access to dignified affordable rental housing close to their workplace.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now