IAS Score

All India PT Mock Test (OMR Based) Across 20 Cities

will be conducted on 20th May, 2018. Click here for Test Schedule & Online admission.

Test Center List:

  1. Delhi
  2. Jammu
  3. Chandigarh
  4. Ahmedabad
  5. Bhopal
  6. Lucknow
  7. Allahabad
  8. Patna
  9. Ranchi
  10. Kolkata
  11. Bhubaneswar
  12. Raipur
  13. Jaipur
  14. Mumbai
  15. Pune
  16. Nagpur
  17. Hyderabad
  18. Chennai
  19. Coimbatore
  20. Bengaluru

Bravery Awards

Bravery Awards

1. National Bravery Awards The National Bravery Awards are presented to 25 Indian children to give due recognition who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their examples. The award is presented every year since 1957 by the Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW) to the children between the ages of six to eighteen. The award includes a medal, a certificate, and a cash prize. The Bharat Award winner gets a gold medal, while the rest get a silver medal. Each child is also given financial assistance to complete his or her schooling, as a part of ICCWs sponsorship program, under the Indira Gandhi scholarship scheme. The award consists of five categories: The Bharat Award, since 1987 The Sanjay Chopra Award, since 1978 The Geeta Chopra Award, since 1978 The Bapu Gaidhani Award, since 1988 General National Bravery Awards, since 1957 The awards are announced on November 14 (Childrens Day) and the Prime Minister presents the awards on the eve of Republic Day. On 26th January, the awardees take part in theRepublic Day ParadeatRajpath, New Delhi. The selection process: ICCW receives applications every year from official agencies such as local and district governments, school authorities and council for child welfare and are being sorted by a committee constituted by ICCW. The committee consists of representatives from the Secretariats of the President and the Vice-President, various ministries, as well as the Central Social Welfare Board, police, All India Radio, Doordarshan and leading NGOs such as the National Bal Bhavan, SOS-Childrens Villages of India, R K Mission and experiencedICCW members. 2. Gallantry Awards TheArmed ForcesofIndiaare eligible for a myriad ofmilitary decorations. Decorations are awarded for extraordinary bravery and courage, as well as distinguished service during times of war and peace. Gallantry awards are basically of two types with each type having three awards each. 1. War Time Gallantry Awards: They are given during wars or battles. These awards are given for the valor shown in the battlefield in the face of the enemy. It consists of: Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakra. 2. Peace Time Gallantry Awards: These are awarded for the courage and bravery shown away from the battlefield. These kind of awards are generally given for counter-insurgency operations. It consists of: Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra.

More In This Section

Quick Contact