IAS Score

All India PT Mock Test (OMR Based) Across 20 Cities

will be conducted on 20th May, 2018. Click here for Test Schedule & Online admission.

Test Center List:

  1. Delhi
  2. Jammu
  3. Chandigarh
  4. Ahmedabad
  5. Bhopal
  6. Lucknow
  7. Allahabad
  8. Patna
  9. Ranchi
  10. Kolkata
  11. Bhubaneswar
  12. Raipur
  13. Jaipur
  14. Mumbai
  15. Pune
  16. Nagpur
  17. Hyderabad
  18. Chennai
  19. Coimbatore
  20. Bengaluru

Monuments of National Importance

Monuments of National Importance

The Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 defines an "Ancient Monument" as follows: Ancient Monument means any structure, erection or monument, or any tumulus or place of interment, or any cave, rock-sculpture, inscription or monolith which is of historical, archaeological or artistic interest and which has been in existence for not less than 100 years A monument or a site is declared to be of National Importance by the Archaeological Survey of India provided it meets the following requirements: The monument or archaeological site is not less than 100 years old. It has special historical, archaeological or artistic interest, making it worthy of declaration as of national importance. It qualifies under specified provisions of definition of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958. The interested public do not have major objections to such declaration. The authenticity and integrity of the ancient monument or archaeological site and remains have not been damaged. It is free from major encumbrances. The central government maintains national monuments, while the state government maintains state monuments. Vishnu Temple, Vishnugudi, District Wayanad, Kerala was declared as a monument of National Importance. The total number of centrally protected monuments in the country is now 3686.

More In This Section

Quick Contact