What's New :
UPSC CSE Result 2023.Download toppers list

Pulitzer Prize for photojournalist Danish Siddiqui

  • Published
    10th May, 2022

Siddiqui and his colleagues Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo and Amit Dave from the Reuters news agency won the Pulitzer Prize, for “images of COVID’s toll in India”.


Danish Siddiqui:

  • He was on assignment in Afghanistan last year when he died.
  • The award-winning journalist was killed in July last while covering clashes between Afghan troops and the Taliban in Spin Boldak district of Kandahar city.
  • This is for the second time that Siddiqui has won the Pulitzer Prize.
  • He was honoured with the prestigious award in 2018 as part of the Reuters team for their coverage of the Rohingya crisis. 

The Pulitzer Prize:

  • The Pulitzer Prizes were established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher, who left money to Columbia University upon his death in 1911.
  • A portion of his bequest was used to found the School of Journalism in 1912 and establish the Pulitzer Prizes, which were first awarded in 1917.
  • There are 22 Pulitzer categories.
  • In 21 of those categories the winners receive a $15,000 cash award and a certificate.
  • Only the winner in the Public Service category of the Journalism competition is awarded a gold medal. 
  • The Public Service prize is always awarded to a news organization, not an individual, although an individual may be named in the citation.
GS Mains Classes GS Classes 2024 UPSC Study Material

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now