What's New :
IAS Mains 2024: Complete (GS & Optional) Syllabus Revision & Updation. Get Details

‘Vijayanagara became Karnataka’s 31st district’

Published: 15th Feb, 2021


The government of Karnataka notified the formation of a new district called Vijayanagara, bifurcating the district of Ballari in the State. With Vijayanagara, the state now has 31 districts.


The Vijayanagara district

  • Named after the capital of the Vijayanagar Empire, the new district was carved out from Ballari under the Karnataka Land Revenue Act, 1964.
  • It is famous for its UNESCO World Heritage sites – Hampi and VirupakshaTemple.
  • Vijayanagara has six taluks – Hosapete, Kudligi, Hagaribommanahalli, Kotturu, HoovinaHadagali, and Harapanahalli.
  • Hosapeteis its headquarters.

Formation of a new district

  • For the formation of a new district, no central government permission is required whereas the formation of a new state is in the purview of Central government.
  • This will be under the state government only.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now