What's New :
Meet the Mentor: Guidance and Mentorship for IAS 2024/25. Book Now
23th July 2022 (7 Topics)

68th National Film Awards


Recently, the 68th National Film Awards has been given by the President.


  • In 1954, the National Film Awards were presented for the first time.
  • The award is given for ‘Outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema’.
  • It is the country's top cinematic honour. 


  • These are among the most prestigious honours bestowed upon persons who have contributed to the advancement of cinematic art.
  • These prizes have been given out annually since 1954.
  • Organised by: The Directorate of Film Festivals took over the responsibility of organizing these awards in 1973.
  • The winners are chosen by a national selection committee appointed by the government.
  • The awards are presented by India's President, and the winning films are shown to the public.
  • The awards are presented not just to the finest films from India's Bollywood industry, but also to the best films from other countries.

List of Awards 2022

  • Best Feature Film:  Soorarai Pottru
  • Best Feature Film in Tamil- Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum
  • Best Choreography: The award goes to Telugu film – Natyam
  • Best Haryanvi Film- Dada Lakhmi
  • Best Actor: Ajay Devgan for Tanaji

Categorization of Awards

The following are the five key categories for which this award is given:

Name of Awards


Swarna Kamal Or the Golden Lotus Award (five categories)

  • Best Feature Film
  • Best Direction
  • Best Children’s Film
  • Best Popular film providing wholesome entertainment
  • Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debutant Director

Rajat Kamal or Silver Lotus Award

There are 25 major categories, such as best feature film, and so on.

Best Feature film in the languages specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution.

There are 12 different categories, including Hindi, Bengali, and others.

Best Feature film specified in the Languages other than those specified in Schedule VIII of the Constitution

English, Bhojpuri, Kokborok, Monpa, and Tulu among the five categories.

  • The famous Dada saheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award is also presented at the National Film Awards to people who have dedicated their whole career to the advancement of Indian cinema.

Other Awards related to Films

  • Bharat Ratna
  • Padma Awards
  • Dadasaheb Phalke awards
  • Sahitya Natak academy

Government interventions

National Film Heritage Mission: This mission includes preservation of Film and Non-film material including but not limited to Celluloid, Stills, glass slides, posters, lobby cards, scripts and song books.


Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now