What's New :
ITS 2025: Integrated Test Series & Mentorship Program for Prelims and Mains. Get Details
IAS Mains 2024: Complete (GS & Optional) Syllabus Revision & Updation. Get Details
4th March 2024 (14 Topics)

International Big Cat Alliance


India's initiatives to conserve big cats, including the establishment of the International Big Cat Alliance, have drawn global attention and recognition. The Union Cabinet recently gave a go-ahead to establishing the International Big Cat Alliance.

What are the 7 big cats?

  • The seven big cats are Tiger, Lion, Leopard, Snow Leopard, Puma, Jaguar and the Cheetah.
  • Out of these, Tiger, Lion, Leopard, Snow Leopard and Cheetah are the only big cats found in India.

IBC Alliance

  • It is one of the most significant steps to bring range and non-range countries on a common platform.
  • International organisations and IBCA: Nine international organisations have given consent; they are IUCN, Science and Conservation International Snow Leopard Trust, Global Tiger Forum, FAO; HE Zurab Pololikashvii, Secretary General of UNWTO; The Amur Tiger Centre; WWF International; World Customs Organization, Midori Paxtor; Director Nature Hub Bureau for Policy and Programme Support, UNDP.
  • IBC Alliance Headquarters: The International Big Cat Alliance’s headquarters will be in India.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now