Sevottam Model

The Sevottam model has been developed with the overarching objective of improving the quality of public service delivery in the country.

The model has three components, and in addition to this overarching objective, there are intermediate outcomes expected from compliance of conditions designed for each of these three components.

The first component of the model requires effective charter implementation thereby opening up a channel for receiving citizens’ inputs into the way in which organizations determine service delivery requirements. Citizens’ Charters publicly declare the information on citizens’ entitlements; making citizens better informed and hence empowering them to demand better services.

The second component of the model, ‘Public Grievance Redress’ requires a good grievance redress system operating in a manner that leaves the citizen more satisfied with how the organization responds to complaints/grievances, irrespective of the final decision.

The third component ‘Excellence in Service Delivery’, postulates that an organization can have an excellent performance in service delivery only if it is managing the key ingredients for good service delivery well, and building its own capacity to continuously improve delivery.

The Sevottam framework has basically three modules - Citizen Charter, Public Grievance Mechanism and Service Delivery Capability. Each of the modules is further divided into three criteria and eleven elements each. The framework helps Government Departments towards improving their public service delivery. The Performance Management Division of the Cabinet Secretariat has included two modules of the Sevottam framework as mandatory success indicator in the Result Frame Document (RFD) 2010-11 for 62 Ministries/Departments approved under Performance Monitoring and Evaluation System (PMES) by Hon’ble Prime Minister. These success indicators are called “Sevottam compliant system for citizens / client charter” and “Sevottam compliant system for public grievance redress”.

There are four broad ways in which this model can be used: (1) as a self-assessment tool by organizations already motivated to improve service delivery, (2) as a requirement standard, (3) as a benchmark assessment process to be established, (4) as a rating model to recognize and reward organizations that are doing commendable work in service delivery.

The Seven Steps to Sevottam proposed by ARC are:
Define all services which you provide and identify your clients.
Set standards and norms for each service.
Develop capability to meet the set standards.
Perform to achieve the standards
Monitor performance against the set standards.
Evaluate the impact through an independent mechanism.
Continuous improvement based on monitoring and evaluation results.

Practice question:

1. Which of the following statements related to Citizen Charter is/are incorrect?
1. The Citizen’s Charter is not legally enforceable.
2. Ministry of Home Affairs provides guidelines for formulation and implementation of the Charters as well as their evaluation.


a) Only 1

b) Only 2

c) Both

d) None

Ans: b
Exp: Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances in Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Government of India, in its efforts to provide more responsive and citizen-friendly governance, coordinates the efforts to formulate and operationalise Citizen’s Charters in Central Government, State Governments and UT Administrations. It provides guidelines for formulation and implementation of the Charters as well as their evaluation.