What's New :
ITS 2025: Integrated Test Series & Mentorship Program for Prelims and Mains. Get Details
19th June 2024 (10 Topics)

Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme


Prime Minister Modi recently honored over 30,000 women from Self Help Groups (SHGs) by granting them certificates as Krishi Sakhis. This initiative underscores the government's commitment to rural empowerment, particularly acknowledging women's pivotal role in agriculture.

About the Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme (KSCP):

  • The Krishi Sakhi Convergence Programme (KSCP) is a joint initiative led by the Ministry of Agriculture and Ministry of Rural Development.
  • It aims to enhance the skills and contributions of rural women in agricultural activities and related businesses.
  • Training and Certification: KSCP focuses on training rural women, termed Krishi Sakhis, as Para-extension Workers. These women undergo comprehensive training for 56 days, covering various aspects such as soil health, integrated farming systems, livestock management, and agroecological practices.
  • Extension of 'Lakhpati Didi' Programme: KSCP is an extension of the government's ambitious 'Lakhpati Didi' initiative, which aims to empower women by creating opportunities for economic self-sufficiency.
    • The programme aligns with the goal of elevating rural women to the status of proficient para-extension workers.

Significance of Krishi Sakhis as Para-extension Workers:

  • Utilization of Expertise: Leveraging their existing knowledge and experience in agriculture, Krishi Sakhis serve as trusted community resources. They play a crucial role in disseminating agricultural best practices and promoting sustainable farming techniques among rural communities.
  • Income Generation: After completing the certification course and passing a proficiency test, Krishi Sakhis can earn between ?60,000 to ?80,000 annually as para-extension workers. This income opportunity not only supports their livelihoods but also strengthens the rural economy.
  • Expansion and Implementation: The programme is currently operational in 12 states across India, including Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and others. Plans are underway to expand it to additional states in subsequent phases, aiming for broader coverage and impact.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now