What's New :

Formation of 19 new districts approved in Rajasthan

  • Category
    Polity & Governance
  • Published
    11th Aug, 2023


The Rajasthan government has approved a decision taken earlier for the formation of 19 new districts and three new divisions, taking the total number of districts in the country’s largest State to 50.




  • Earlier, Rajasthan has 31 Districts which has now been increased to 50.
  • These districts are categorized under 7 different divisions of Ajmer, Kota, Jaipur, Bharatpur, Bikaner, and Udaipur.
  • The districts of Rajasthan are segregated under separate divisions for ease of administration.
  • As per new District List in Rajasthan, new additions are Anupgarh, Balotra, Beawar, DeegDidwana, Kuchaman City, Dudu, Gangapur City, Jaipur North, Jaipur South, Jodhpur West, Kekdi, Kotputli, Khairthal, Neemkathana, Phalodi, Salumbar, Sanchore, Shahpura&Bhilwara.
  • The last district added to the state of Rajasthan wasPratapgarhin 2008.

Ram Lubhaya Committee

The State Cabinet approved the proposal of the high-level Ram Lubhaya Committee (constituted in 2019) for the creation of new districts and divisions.

What is the Procedure to form a new District?

  • The power to create new districts or alter or abolish existing districts rests with the State government.
  • This can either be done through an executive order or by passing a law in the State Assembly.
  • The Centre has no role to play in the alteration of districts or the creation of new ones. States are free to decide on this matter.
  • Name change: If the state government wants to change the name of a district or a railway station, then the Home Ministry comes into the picture and must follow the following procedure;
  • The State government will propose a new name to a district and forward the proposal to the Home ministry.
  • The Home Ministry will forward the proposal to other departments.
  • After that, the departments such as the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Intelligence Bureau, Department of Posts, Geographical Survey of India Sciences, and the Railway Ministry, provide their clearance to the proposal of the state government.
  • After examination of their replies, the state government receives a no-objection certificate. Then the name of the district changes.

Advantages of forming new districts

Associated challenges

  • Better administration
  • Smaller district ensures better governance
  • Serve a large population
  • Bring administration closer to the people
  • New districts attract more district-specific schemes
  • Increase employment
  • Increase in expenditure and resources
  • Substitute for genuine decentralization
  • Increases cost of living in new districts
  • A Political move
  • Underutilization of administration

Verifying, please be patient.

Our Centers

DELHI (Karol Bagh)

GS SCORE, 1B, Second Floor, Pusa Road, Karol Bagh, New Delhi - 110005 (Beside Karol Bagh Metro Station Gate No. 8)

Get directions on Google Maps

BHUBANESWAR (Jaydev Vihar)

GS SCORE, Plot No.2298, Jaydev Vihar Square, Near HCG Day Care, BBSR - 751013

Get directions on Google Maps

LUCKNOW (Aliganj)

GS SCORE, 2nd Floor, B-33, Sangam Chauraha, Sector H, Aliganj, Lucknow, UP - 226024

Get directions on Google Maps

Enquire Now