What's New :

G4 countries and consensus on UN Security Council

Published: 30th Sep, 2022


Recently, the G4 countries have collaborated to reiterate support for each other’s bids to become permanent members of the UNSC, and for representation of African countries in the 76th Session of the U.N. General Assembly.


  • The G4 nations, comprising Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan, are four countries which support each other's bids for permanent seats on the United Nations Security Council.
  • Unlike the G7, where the common denominator is the economy and long-term political motives, the G4's primary aim is the permanent member seats on the Security Council.
  • Each of these four countries have figured among the elected non-permanent members of the council since the UN's establishment

India is currently a non-permanent member of the UNSC, with its two year term ending on December 31 this year.

United Nations Security Council (UNSC) and G4 Countries

  • The UN currently has five permanent memberswith veto power in the Security Council: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  • The G4 nations are regularly elected to two-year termson the Security Council as non-permanent members by their respective regional groups.
  • Brazil and Japan were elected for five termseach, Germany for four terms (one term as West Germany and three terms as unified Germany) and India for four terms.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now