What's New :
IAS Mains 2024: Complete (GS & Optional) Syllabus Revision & Updation. Get Details

Himalayan State Regional Council

Published: 22nd Nov, 2018

NITI Aayog has constituted Himalayan State Regional Council (HSRC) for the Sustainable Development of Indian Himalayan Region.


NITI Aayog has constituted Himalayan State Regional Council (HSRC) for the Sustainable Development of Indian Himalayan Region.



  • Recognizing the uniqueness of the Himalayas and the challenges for sustainable development, Five Working Groups were constituted by NITI Aayog in June 2017.
  • These groups were established along thematic areas to prepare a roadmap for action.

The HSRC has been constituted to review and implement identified action points based on the reports of these five Working Groups.

Five Thematic Areas

  • Inventory and Revival of Springs in Himalayas for Water Security
  • Sustainable Tourism in Indian Himalayan Region
  • Shifting Cultivation: Towards Transformation Approach
  • Strengthening Skill & Entrepreneurship (E&S) Landscape in Himalayas
  • Data/Information for Informed Decision Making.

 Composition of the HSRC

The Himalayan State Regional Council will consist of :

  • Chairman-Niti Aayog member
  • Chief Secretaries of the Himalayan States
  • Secretaries of key Central Ministries
  • senior officers of NITI Aayog
  • Special invitees.

Mandate of HSRC

  • The HSRC will be the nodal agency for the Sustainable development in the Himalayan Region consisting 12 States of India.
  • It will monitor the implementation of action points for Central Ministries, Institutions and Himalayan State Governments in Indian Himalayan Region.
  • The developmental projects to be monitored include:
  • River basin development and regional cooperation
  • Spring mapping and revival across Himalayas in phased manner for water security;
  • Develop, implement and monitor tourism sector standards
  • Strengthen skill & entrepreneurship with focus on identified priority sectors.


The establishment of HSRC is significant for the holistic development of the Himalayan region. The council can become a linchpin in brining coordination of the Himalaya states and can bring convergence of the developmental projects.

                                                          Indian Himalayan Region

  • The Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) is spreading on 10 states (administrative regions) namely, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, and hill regions of 2 states viz. Assam and West Bengal of Indian Republic.
  • Starting from foot-hills in the south (Siwaliks) the region extends to Tibetan plateau in the north (trans-Himalaya) comprising about 95 districts of the country.
  • The region occupies the strategic position of entire northern boundary (North-West to North-East) of the nation and touches almost all the international borders (7 countries) with India.
  • It contributes about 16.2% of India’s total geographical area, and most of the area is covered by snow-clad peaks, glaciers of higher Himalaya, dense forest cover of mid-Himalaya.
  • The IHR shows a thin and dispersed human population as compared to the national figures due to its physiographic condition and poor infrastructure development but the growth rate is much higher than the national average.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now