What's New :
29th April 2022 (7 Topics)

Xi’s “Global Security Initiative”


A new Global Security Initiative put forward by Chinese President Xi Jinping will look to counter the U.S. Indo-Pacific strategy and the Quad – the India, U.S., and Australia, Japan grouping.


About Xi’s Global Security Initiative:

In this initiative, 6 points agenda have been highlighted:

  1. Countries should respect the sovereignty and territorial integrity of all countries, uphold the principle of non-interference in internal affairs, and respect the independent choices of development paths and social systems made by people in different countries.
  2. The countries should stay committed to taking the legitimate security concerns of all countries seriously, uphold the principle of indivisible security, build balanced, effective, and sustainable security architecture, and oppose the pursuit of one's own security at the cost of others' security.
  3. The countries should be committed to resolve their differences and disputes through dialogue and consultation in a peaceful environment, support all efforts conducive to the peaceful settlement of crisis, reject hypocrisy or double standards, and oppose the frenetic use of unilateral sanctions and long-arm jurisdiction of international institutions.
  4. The countries should be committed to maintaining security in both conventional and non-conventional domains, and work together on regional disputes and global challenges such as terrorism, climate change, cybersecurity and biosecurity.
  5. The Asian countries to follow the path of peace and development and seek win-win cooperation. No matter their size and strength, the countries both in and outside the region should add grandiosity rather than trouble to Asia.
  6. Countries should choose dialogue and cooperation over zero-sum games, openness and inclusiveness over a closed-door and exclusive approach, and exchanges and mutual learning over a sense of superiority because it is the only choice worthy of the broad-mindedness of Asians.

About Quad:

  • The Quad, or Quadrilateral Security Dialogue, comprises the United States, India, Japan and Australia.
  • It is an informal group of the four nations that hold semi-regular meetings, joint military drills, and discussions about regional, economic and development assistance.
  • The framework was established in 2007, but it took on a new level of importance in 2019 with a discussion among foreign ministers amid China’s increasing influence.
  • The group’s primary objectives include
    • maritime security,
    • combating the Covid-19 crisis, especially vis-à-vis vaccine diplomacy,
    • addressing the risks of climate change,
    • creating an ecosystem for investment in the region and
    • boosting technological innovation

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now