What's New :
12th May 2022 (10 Topics)

Cyclonic storm Asani


The cyclonic storm Asani weakened into a deep depression and crossed the Andhra Pradesh coast.


About Cyclone Asani:

  • Cyclone Asani is brewing in the southern Andaman Sea.
  • The name Cyclone Asani has been given by Sri Lanka. It means 'wrath' in Sinhalese.
  • Cyclone Asani has weakened into a deep depression with a wind speed of 55-65 kmph gusting to 75 kmph. 
  • Gulab, Titli, Hudhud, Helen, and Lehar — these five cyclones have made landfall over Andhra Pradesh in the last 10 years.
  • The cyclone that will form after Asani will be called Sitrang, a name given by Thailand.

What are Tropical Cyclones?

  • Tropical cyclones, also known as typhoons or hurricanes, are among the most destructive weather phenomena.
  • They are intense circular storms that originate over warm tropical oceans, and have maximum sustained wind speeds exceeding 119 kilometres per hour and heavy rains.
  • However, the greatest damage to life and property is not from the wind, but from secondary events such as storm surges, flooding, landslides and tornadoes.
  • Depending on its location and strength, a tropical cyclone is referred to by different names, including hurricane, typhoon, tropical storm, cyclonic storm, tropical depression, and simply cyclone.
  • Hurricane: Atlantic Ocean
  • Typhoon: North-western Pacific Ocean
  • Tropical cyclones: South Pacific or the Indian Ocean

The new list:

  • The list comprises names of 13 cyclones each for the 13 member countries, totaling to 169.
  • The names for India include Gati, Tej, Murasu, Aag, Vyom, Jhar, Probaho, Neer, Prabhanjan, Ghurni, Ambud, Jaladhi and Vega.
  • Some of the names for Bangladesh are Nisarga, Biparjoy, Arnab and Upakul.
  • Tropical cyclones forming over different ocean basins are named by the concerned RSMCs & TCWCs.
  • For north Indian Ocean, including Bay of Bengal and Arabian Sea, the RSMC, New Delhi, assigns the name to tropical cyclones following a standard procedure, an IMD release stated.

Indian Meteorological Department:

  • Indian Meteorological Department was established in the year 1875 with its headquarters at Calcutta.
  • IMD’s headquarter shifted to Shimla in 1905, to Pune in 1928 and then to Delhi in 1944.
  • Worldwide, there are six Regional Specialised Meteorological Centres (RSMCs) and five regional Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres (TCWCs) which issue advisories and names of tropical cyclones.
  • The IMD is one of the six RSMCs to provide tropical cyclone and storm surge advisories to 13 member nations, which include Bangladesh, India, Iran, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the UAE and Yemen.

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now