What's New :
Organize your integrated preparation with Minimum Input & Maximum Output. Register here...

Tibetan Democracy Day

  • Published
    2nd Sep, 2022

Tibetan refugees across the world are celebrating the 62nd anniversary of Tibetan Democracy Day on September 2.


Tibetan Democracy Day:

  • The day was marked with the inauguration of the Tibetan government-in-exile in Dharamshala on September 2nd, 1960.
  • The day is widely known within the community as Mangsto Duchen (‘Mangsto’: democracy; ‘Duchen’: occasion).
  • At the heart of the Tibetan democratic system, which governs over 1 lakh refugees across the world, stands the Central Tibetan Administration (CTA), the Tibetan government-in-exile in Dharamshala.

NOTE: CTA is not officially recognised by any country.

Important developments

  • First Oath: The first elected representatives of the Tibetan Parliament-in-exile took their oaths in Bodh Gaya to inaugurate the Tibetan democratic system.
  • 1963: Dalai Lama enacted the Tibetan constitution based on the ideals of democracy and universal values, following which the first women representatives were elected.
  • 1975: Kashag, the apex body of CTA, declared September 2 as the founding day of Tibetan democracy.
  • 1991: Charter of the Tibetans in exile was adopted, and in the following year, the Tibetan Supreme Justice Commission was established, introducing the exile community to the three pillars of democracy.
  • Dalai Lama after announcing a position of semi-retirement, called for the first direct election of Kalön Tripa, the executive head of the CTA.
  • 2011: Dalai Lama handed over all his political and executive power to the Sikyong, also known as the President of CTA.

How does the CTA, the Tibetan government-in-exile, work?

  • The CTA, which is based in Dharamshala in Himachal Pradesh, has a branch office in every Tibetan settlement spread across India and abroad.
  • Under its incumbent President, Penpa Tsering, CTA runs seven departments: Religion and Culture, Home, Finance, Education, Security, Information and International Relations, and Health.
  • The President is directly elected every five years.
  • The Tibetan Parliament-in-exile, the highest legislative body of the CTA, comprises 45 members:
    • 10 representatives from each of the traditional provinces of Tibet, U-Tsang, Dhotoe, and Dhomey
    • two from each of the four schools of Tibetan Buddhism
    • two representing each of the Tibetan communities in North America and Europe
    • one each from Australasia and Asia (excluding India, Nepal and Bhutan).
  • Every Tibetan above 18 with their Green Book, the main document of identity, is allowed to register in the voter’s list.

India’s official policy towards the CTA:

  • India considers the Dalai Lama as a revered religious leader and an honoured guest, but it does not encourage political activities by Tibetans.
  • It does not recognise any separate government of Tibet functioning in India.
  • CTA President Lobsang Sangay was among the invitees at the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2014.
  • In 2016, Dalai Lama was hosted in Rashtrapati Bhavan by President Pranab Mukherjee.
  • Dalai Lama has also been allowed to visit Tawang, one of the main sites of contention in the Sino-Indian border dispute. In 2017, amid ongoing tensions in Doklam, Lobsang Sangay visited Pangong lake in Ladakh.

Relationship of CTA with other countries:

  • The US is the only government in the world which is politically upfront in supporting the Tibetan issue, whether it be a bi-partisan support for Tibet; Policies on Tibet (Tibet Policy Act 2002, and Tibet Policy and Support Act 2020), and an appointment of special coordinator on Tibet.
GS Mains Classes GS Classes 2024 UPSC Study Material

Verifying, please be patient.

Enquire Now