Bullet Train in India

The Mumbai–Ahmedabad high-speed rail corridor is an under-construction high-speed rail line connecting the cities of Ahmedabad, Gujarat, and India's economic hub Mumbai, Maharashtra. It will be India's first high-speed rail line.

Key Project features:

• Length 508 kms double line. Mumbai Ahmedabad High Speed Rail will be passing through two states, Maharashtra 155.642 KMs and Gujarat 350.530 KMs and one Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli 2 KMs.
• 12 stations: Mumbai, Thane, Virar, Boisar, Vapi, Bilimora, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, Anand, Ahmedabad, Sabarmati. Except Mumbai, all other stations will be elevated.
• Maximum Design Speed - 350 kmph while Maximum Operating speed of 320 kmph.
• Journey time: 2.07 hrs (limited stops), 2.58 hrs (stopping at all stations).
• Maintenance of Trains: Sabarmati (Depot & Workshop) and Thane Depot.
• Operations Control Centre (OCC) at Sabarmati. High Speed Railway training Centre which was earlier planned at Gandhinagar will now be located at Vadodara.
• A 21-km-long tunnel will be built between Boisar and BKC in Mumbai, of which 7km will be under water.
• The Railways will only require around 825 hectares of land for the project as 92 per cent of the route will be elevated, six per cent will go through tunnels and only the remaining two per cent will be on ground.
• Railway Minister Piyush Goyal has said bullet train fares will be "affordable for all". The train will have two categories of seats - executive and economy -- with prices comparable with the base AC 2-tier fare of the Rajdhani Express.

Cost of the Project:

• The project is estimated to cost Rs1.1 lakh crore (US$17 billion). The cost includes interest during construction and import duties.
• Japanese International Cooperation Agency (JICA) agreed to fund 81% of the total project cost ₹88,087 crore (US$14 billion), through a 50-year loan at an interest rate of 0.1% with a moratorium on repayments up to 15 years and the remaining cost will be borne by the state governments of Maharashtra and Gujarat.